Candlewood Lodge Update

Well, what a weekend we have had.   So many visitors here at Candlewood Lodge its been like a real cosmopolitan weekend.   We had 6 from Finland and then a 2 then 2 from America, 2 from New Zealand and Australia.  2 from England and so on.

Well, the good news is that all of the people complimented us about Candlewood Lodge, said it was beautifully done and the breakfasts were excellent.  We have just finished breakfast which I started the preparation at 6.30am this morning and so by the time we are finished at around 10.30 you can see it does take some effort but when the Guests come and say such big thank yous to you  it is well worthwhile. They were also very Happy with the restaurants that we recommened to them ie.   J.J.’s an excellent restaurant at the waterfront with good food and a wonderful ambience run by Justin.   Hei is a dapper little man, but sees to his Guests every need.  On the roof of the Restaurant he has literally hundreds of bottles signed by people from all over the world.   Hes is also very liberal with the Port after your meal.  His Staff, will also sing to you.  Wonderful voices that make your blood run cold so to speak., The there is n the Anchorage  run by Brian.  He really looks after his guests and also provides beautifully prepared food with really good presenttion.      Our Guests really enjoyed there meal there as they told me so.  So Justin and Brian   well done.

On Saturday morning , it was pouring with rain, so after breakfasts were concluded we decided on a quick trip to Sedgefield market.   There were a lot less people there because of the rain, but  I was lucky enough to get several boxes of home grown strawberries for the breakfast at Candlewood the next day so thank you rain.    Often by the time I manage to get there they are all sold.    This market as said before is a really lovely market to visit with endless homegrown veggies and breakds olives, greek food, home reared chickens and Karoo Lamb wonderful indeed.   Then we have the lady who makes the most beautiful glycerin soaps.

They are all lovely smells lavender, rose, camomile, and at least 20 different soaps if not more.  I always buy some for myself as it is lovely on your skin

I also managed to purchase some indigenous plants for my garden and pray that they survive the lack of rain.   Trying to swop to indigenous, but not my ROSES.  I just love them so much so will persevere with them

On that note friends, I must stop writing and start working again   We have a lot of changeovers this morning Guests coming and going here at Candlewood and I do like to check continuously all the time that the rooms are 100 per cent.    I know they are because again our Guests write that all the time but I am very hands on and it is important to me to see that everything is just so..

On that note I must mention my excellent Staff Anna whom I have had for nearly 5 years and trained, then Ayanda who has been with me for 2 years and trained and then young Vu Vu who is doing very well.

All of them are just so hardworking and lovely staff who can be trusted completely.   How nice is that.

Hope you all have a wonderful day

God Bless you all

Joyce

 

About candlewoodknysna

I'm the owner of Candlewood Lodge set on the famous Knysna Lagoon in the Garden Route of South Africa. My husband and I built and established this guest house for discerning travellers who really appreciate the finer things in life. We're originally from the UK but have spent many years in Africa and love the lifestyle and the people and would very much enjoy being your hosts while you sample the delights of our stunningly beautiful town.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment